Eight kids literally broke the 2019 National Spelling Bee

In the intriguing 2019 National Spelling Bee finale, eight spellers emerged as co-champions.

Jacques Bailly, the longtime announcer, made it clear after the 17th round that, if more than one speller sticks around after the finale's 20th round, they would be crowned co-champions. And truly eight spellers stood tall after that last round; those eight spellers have been declared co-champions of the competition.

The name of these eight co-champions are: Christopher Serrao, Raja, Erin Howard,  Saketh Sundar, Shruthika Padhy, Rishik Gandhasri, Sohum Sukhatankar and Abhijay Kodali.
Each of them took home $50,000, as well as a Scripps Cup trophy.

Huge words such as aiuguilette, erysipelas, pendeloque and bougainvillea popped up in the final round.

The final word of the competition, odylic was spelt by Rohan Raja.

Post a Comment